Row Wrapper 2

San Juan Island, Rocky Bay Retreat #184

4.6765
(34 Reviews)

Capacity

5 Bedrooms
3.5 Bath
Sleeps 12

Search Availability

About

LARGE, SPACIOUS WATERFRONT HOME WITH 32 FOOT DOCK

This spacious 4000 square foot residence is simply one of the best vacation homes on San Juan Island! With 5 bedrooms, 3.5 baths, 400 feet of waterfront, a 32 foot dock (seasonal and tide permitting), and a prime location only five miles from Roche Harbor, it is the perfect choice for multiple couples and families.

The property is located at the end of a private drive in a desirable neighborhood. The shoreline setting offers big sky and water views across the northeastern channel as well as over the inlet bay to the south. A gravel shoreline at low tide and rocky ledges filled with tide pools extend from the water’s edge as does a 32 foot dock to please both small craft boaters and kayaking enthusiasts (boaters are cautioned that this dock has very little draft at a zero tide. Boaters must determine for themselves the safety of accessing and docking based on their boat's draft and viewing tide tables during their scheduled visit).

The exquisite views are prominent in the living room on the main level. This comfortable gathering space includes a game table in the corner, plush seating in front of a wood burning fireplace, and a 60-inch television with HDTV. Cooks will find the country kitchen to be superbly equipped with high end appliances, a prep island, counter seating, and dining table. The master bedroom, featuring beautiful views, is a few steps down from the main level. This generous space offers a king bed and en-suite bathroom with soaking tub, dual vanities, bidet, and separate shower. A powder room is located on the main level as well.

The guest bedroom wing contains four other bedrooms and a small seating area. Bedrooms 2 and 3 each offer a queen size bed and they share a bathroom with tub/shower located in the hall. Bedroom 4 contains both a king size bed and a double bed, perfect for a couple with a young child. This bedroom connects to the third bathroom, also with tub/shower, that also opens to the seating area so that bedroom 5 may share it as well. This bedroom is down a few steps and is a large area that contains two twin beds, a child size hobby table, a crib, and floor cushions for the comfort of those who may want to bring a sleeping bag.

With such an abundance of amenities, it’s no surprise that Rocky Beach Retreat is destined to be one of the most popular vacation homes in the San Juan Islands!

San Juan County VR Permit #PCUPP00-10-0004

PLEASE BE ADVISED. Parties are not permitted under any circumstances and the guest occupancy limit will be strictly enforced during your stay.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

LIMITED AVAILABILITY OF SERVICES (IMPORTANT NOTICE, PLEASE READ)

Northwest Island Escapes makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services.

Features

Amenities

  • House
  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront
  • Private Dock
  • Dogs Not Allowed
  • DVD Player
  • WIFI internet
  • Satellite TV
  • Wood Burning Fireplace
  • Private Beach
  • Exterior and/or Interior Stairs
  • No Smoking Allowed

Location

  • San Juan Island

Rates and Fees

  • 4 Night Minimum Peak
  • 3 Night Minimum Shoulder
  • 3 Night Minimum Quiet
  • $99 Damage Waiver
  • $265 Checkout Cleaning
  • $55 Reservation Fee
  • 3% Admin Fee

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
$899 /nt
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
$899 /nt
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
 
2
 
3
$899 /nt
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
$649 /nt
9
$649 /nt
10
$649 /nt
11
$649 /nt
12
$649 /nt
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
$649 /nt
17
$649 /nt
18
$649 /nt
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
$649 /nt
24
$649 /nt
25
$649 /nt
26
$649 /nt
27
$649 /nt
28
$649 /nt
29
$649 /nt
30
$649 /nt
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$649 /nt
2
$649 /nt
3
$649 /nt
4
$649 /nt
5
$649 /nt
6
$649 /nt
7
$649 /nt
8
$649 /nt
9
$649 /nt
10
$649 /nt
11
$649 /nt
12
$649 /nt
13
$649 /nt
14
$649 /nt
15
$649 /nt
16
$549 /nt
17
$549 /nt
18
$549 /nt
19
$549 /nt
20
$549 /nt
21
$549 /nt
22
$549 /nt
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
$549 /nt
29
$549 /nt
30
$549 /nt
31
$549 /nt
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$549 /nt
2
$549 /nt
3
$549 /nt
4
$549 /nt
5
$549 /nt
6
$549 /nt
7
$549 /nt
8
$549 /nt
9
$549 /nt
10
$549 /nt
11
$549 /nt
12
$549 /nt
13
$549 /nt
14
$549 /nt
15
$549 /nt
16
$549 /nt
17
$549 /nt
18
$549 /nt
19
$549 /nt
20
$549 /nt
21
$549 /nt
22
$549 /nt
23
$549 /nt
24
$549 /nt
25
$549 /nt
26
$549 /nt
27
$649 /nt
28
$649 /nt
29
$649 /nt
30
$649 /nt
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$649 /nt
2
$549 /nt
3
$549 /nt
4
$549 /nt
5
$549 /nt
6
$549 /nt
7
$549 /nt
8
$549 /nt
9
$549 /nt
10
$549 /nt
11
$549 /nt
12
$549 /nt
13
$549 /nt
14
$549 /nt
15
$549 /nt
16
$549 /nt
17
$549 /nt
18
$549 /nt
19
$549 /nt
20
$549 /nt
21
$549 /nt
22
$549 /nt
23
$649 /nt
24
$649 /nt
25
$649 /nt
26
$649 /nt
27
$649 /nt
28
$649 /nt
29
$649 /nt
30
$649 /nt
31
$649 /nt
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 

Map

Reviews

San Juan Sojourn

May 2019
, McKenna, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Our group of 9 ladies were very pleased with the Rocky Bay house and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet and scenic place to stay. It is only about 15 minutes to town and also very convenient to Roche Harbor. We watched seals and a family of geese each day. The house was very well suited for accommodating our group and the kitchen was well equipped for all the meals we prepared.

Pacific Northwest Island Dreamhome

October 2018
, Port Angeles, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Perfect getaway for our fathers 80th birthday. This home is lovely and the view is breathtaking. Plenty of space for 12 people to sleep in comfy beds. We all loved watching the seals and sea otters playing in the bay. We went to the nearby oyster house and fish market and had a great time cooking seafood on the huge deck. The cidery is also nearby and provides excellent ciders and adult beverages, perfect for pairing with seafood. This is truly a place to get away from all the stress of busy lives. We all wanted to stay much longer than three days. We are currently planning our next trip to Rocky Bay Retreat. This home is well stocked with everything you will need and customer service is excellent and friendly. This home and island are so worth seeing, you will not be disappointed. The ferry ride from Anacortes to Friday Harbor offers stunning scenery and glimpses of sea life. This was a great vacation destination that we won’t soon forget.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your wonderful detailed review of Rocky Bay Retreat! We hope you will share your experiences with your friends and return to visit again soon.
NW Island Escapes

Great home!

October 2018
, Henderson, NV United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a great time staying at this home! We’re very grateful for the experience and that the owners were gracious enough to let us stay there! The home was set up perfectly for our family to stay there. It has beautiful sunrises, majestic landscapes and was really ideal in every way... except for 2... the WiFi was a little slow and we didn’t catch any fish. :) I figure if you’re going to a remote location like this, WiFi isn’t a top priority but it was a little slow bc all of our devices were connected. I was even able to fly my drone and got some really amazing footage and pictures.

Manager's Response

Thank you so much for your thorough review of Rocky Bay Retreat. We do agree, the home is fabulous and has gorgeous views. The WiFi situation is one which guests sometimes do experience here on our rural island but we believe it's a small inconvenience to trade for a few days in Paradise! We hope you agree. As for the fish... well... we feel for you. As you probably did discover though, there is plenty of fresh fish for sale on the island! :) We would welcome you to a future visit to one of our homes in the beautiful San Juan Islands.
~NW Island Escapes

A fantastic location for exploring the San Juans by land or sea

September 2018
, Gig Harbor, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

This is really a gem of a property. The views, especially at sunrise, are spectacular. The home is large, comfortable, well-appointed, and less "dated" than the pictures might lead you to believe. Sure, there's pink tile in the bathroom, but really, is that going to stop you from having a good time in a rental house? We had zero problems with water availability or quality. The owners have clearly invested heavily in a catchment and treatment system to rectify past issues, so while I would recommend conserving water during your stay, don't avoid booking the property based on outdated reviews.

We brought a 23' boat on a tandem-axle trailer, which due to logistical issues, I needed to bring to the property before launching at Roche Harbor. The private road and driveway were tight in places, but I was able to make it work without incident. The property is large with lots of parking, but the meandering driveway is delineated with large rocks, so be careful. The dock was fantastic. We used the property as a jumping off point for exploring the islands by boat, paddleboard, and kayaks. I do wish the pier had a second, lower railing to make it a little safer for kids, but aside from that it was excellent with good quality cleats and large fenders already attached. Depth at the dock on a zero tide is about 4' with a soft mud/sand bottom, for those who are wondering.

The exterior of the house and the deck are in need minor repairs and a paint job, but again, not in any way that is going to affect your stay. I noticed it because I'm a property manager myself, but most people wouldn't. I did wish there was some better quality patio furniture, such as a large dining table and chairs, but I concluded they must not provide that to avoid noisy gatherings outside.

Overall, this is a great property. At the high-season price point, you might like to see more attention to detail on maintenance and higher-end furnishing, but really, you won't regr

Ship Shape

August 2018
, chicago, IL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great house, super dock, best location.

Roche trip

August 2018
, Edmonds, WA United States

Overall
1
Services from rental manager
1
Cleanliness
1
Location
1
Property condition
1

We had a great time. Exceptional property. Better outdoor deck furniture would be great. New table and chairs and recliners.

Highly Recommended!!

July 2018
, Fair Oaks, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We absolutely loved Rocky Bay Retreat! In addition to the praises from other reviewers, we thought that the kitchen was the best stocked rental kitchen we'd ever been in. Good quality pots and pans and even a sharp knife! We were careful with our water usage, but had no problems at all. Loved watching the wildlife and fishing from the dock!

Super duper!

May 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Had a great time with the guys out on San Juan. Dock had plenty of clearance for the fishing boats, yard was large enough for some catch and everyone (all 9 of us) slept comfortably.

Good family house

June 2018
, Windsor, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We spent 45 minutes scrubbing the boat dock and ramp on our first day. It was filthy. The day before we checked out, the company came to clean the dock, because the "owners" were coming after us.
Other, than that everything was great.

A gorgeous escape

April 2018
, Brooklyn, New York United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

we were so happy with the Rocky Bay Retreat house for our family & friend gathering! The house was well appointed, and the view was perfection. The management co was responsive and followed up with us upon check-in! Each room was comfortable, and it was laid out very well in that the bedrooms were on the opposite side of the house from the kitchen/living space. This way we could put the kids to bed and still be up for dinner without causing any disturbances. We watched seals, otters, eagles and deer from our windows each morning, and the short 1 mile walk to the beaches Reuben Tarte County Park was beautiful! Will definitely book again!

Beautiful Setting

April 2018
, seattle, wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

A beautifully laid out home, great for multiple guests or families. It was spotlessly clean and the location was stunning. The house worked really well for our 3 generation family get together. It was quiet and felt very private. The weather was against us but we enjoyed looking out of the large windows, dinning in the kitchen together and using the dock to launch our kayak. We spotted many eagles, seals and deers during our stay. Management was extremely cooperative and helpful. The only thing to note is that the water pressure is very weak and the system can only manage one faucet at a time. We went in knowing this and managed to time our showers and dishwasher use accordingly.

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, thank you so much for visiting us on San Juan Island and staying at Rocky Bay Retreat! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and in fact have discovered that even when the weather turns cooler and rainy, the Islands are an absolutely magical place to spend vacation time. We hope you will return soon when the weather is better! Best, General Manager

San Juan Island, Rocky Bay Retreat #184

September 2017
, Portland, OR United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had a fabulous time at this retreat. It was centrally located between Friday Harbor and Roche Harbor which made it very convenient for our day excursions. This home had all the amenities we could ask for. The kitchen was furnished with anything and everything that you would need in preparing a meal. The setting was second to non. We felt that we were able to totally get away and have total privacy. We would definately stay here again.

Great Location Nice Layout

August 2017
, Mount Vernon, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

The place was great location and nice layout for 10 adults. The only complaint i would have is the deck/railing is rotting and one of the guest fell through the deck but the management company was all over it and did what they could and was concerned. I would stay there again.

Seaside Escape.

July 2017
, Butte, MT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

We had a great time while staying at the incredible Rocky Bay Retreat! The house is gorgeous!! We had 7 adults and 3 children staying and we were more than comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was that the adjacent beach was private and off limits. I understand that we could have gone there and stayed below the tide line - however, there was no land access for it. I would have loved for the children to be able to poke around there. Other than that, we were more than satisfied with our stay.

A Great San Juan Getaway

July 2017
, Portland, Oregon United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3

Rocky Bay Retreat was ideal for our 5-couple bike group. We book-ended our trip with 2 different rides on San Juan Island and in between took the ferry each day to ride Shaw, Orcas & Lopez Islands. The dock provided the perfect spot from which to launch our kayaks and we saw 2 big bald eagles when we paddled around the little island that is not far from the house.

One morning we were entertained by a couple of otters exploring the kayaks on the dock and another morning a deer family breakfasted just off the deck.

The reason for 3 stars for the property's condition are a couple of somewhat minor issues: the coffee pot needs to be replaced (it takes FOREVER and loses a large portion of the water you put in); the deck railing is unstable and needs to be replaced; and the water conversation...

We read all the comments about water usage so were prepared to be planful and frugal. We were conscious about distributing showers between morning and evening and we made them quick. Considering the fact that we cooked 5 dinners there with the associated dishes and ran a couple loads of laundry, I would say the it all worked out just fine.

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay in the Islands and for allowing us to help you with your stay. We also appreciate the review you have left here and our staff is in the process of accessing and if necessary addressing the two issues you mention. With respect to the water situation, unfortunately the islands do have limited water capacity and so we request that our guests be respectful and limit their water usage. I apologize if that created any discomfort during your stay. Thank you again for choosing us to assist you with your vacation experience in the beautiful San Juan Islands! Best Regards, General Manager

Great location

July 2017
, Edmonds, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Awesome location. There was a mix up on cleaning but quickly rectified. Also kitchen faucet broke. Handyman was there in a half hour and replaced the next morning. Good service by Windermere. Home is in good shape.

SPECTACULAR CHOICE

June 2017
, Danville, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Five bedrooms, on the water. Need I say more? OK: Spectacular location, views across the water, wildlife, quiet, wonderfully rural drive to get there (we reject driving through rows of houses to get to our rentals). Others have voiced concerns about the water pressure, but we did fine simply by avoiding simultaneous showers. House equipment all worked fine. Beds are great. Tons of space for large groups if you get stuck inside because of weather.large kitchen, dining, and living area. Rental management agency was completely responsive. Well stay here again when we need the space!

Memorial Day reunion was a hit!

May 2017
, Anchorage, AK United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

Super Clean, pictures were accurate of property, view was incredible, pleasant stay.

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, We appreciate that you chose us to stay with on your Island getaway. We also appreciate your review and would welcome more specific feedback if you would like to send that to . We want to be sure we are able to address any issues you may have discovered during your stay. We hope you will return to the Islands and give us another opportunity to serve your vacation needs! Best, General Manager

Great spot for families

April 2017
, Bellingham, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Excellent vacation spot for extended family or several couples. Ideal bedroom arrangements. Looking forward to going back.

Thanksgiving weekend on San Juan Island

November 2016
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had the pleasure of spending a very enjoyable family weekend at Rocky Bay Retreat on San Juan Island for Thanksgiving weekend. The house was very nice inside; clean, spacious, and comfortable. We especially liked the openness between the living room, dining area, and kitchen, which made it nice when we were all together. The house was also well stocked with anything we needed. The location was beautiful, and quiet, being at the end of the road, and maybe more so since it was Thanksgiving weekend. It was also very easy to find with the directions we were given, even in the dark. Reserving the house was easy and we were given all the information we needed in a timely manner.
This is a great place and highly recommended.

San Juan Rocky Bay

September 2016
, Olympia, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

Great place for 2 or 3 families with plenty of gathering areas and bathrooms.
Large well equipped kitchen w outdoor gas barbecue can handle several cooks.
We didn't turn tv on once as scenery was our entertainment. Rocky shore sent us less than 1/2 mile away to public beach for beach combing. Also many parks and beaches on west side of island where we saw whales. Bring kayaks or row boats - shallow low tides do not handle sailboat so kept ours at Friday Harbor.
Spotless home right down to clean windows which is often not the case at waterfront homes. Get up in time to catch great sunrises!

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, We really appreciate you visiting the Islands and choosing to stay with us. We also appreciate your wonderful review. Rocky Bay Retreat is truly a special property and we're glad you enjoyed it! We hope you will return to the Islands and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Best Regards, General Manager

Amazing, Secluded House on the Water

July 2016
, St. Louis, MO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

This rental was amazing! Located at the end of a quiet road right on the water, this could not have been more perfect for our wedding weekend. Having our own dock was very handy but be careful docking large boats at low can get pretty shallow sometimes.

Rocky Bay

August 2016
, Edmonds, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Very good. Clean and modern home. Minor comments were made on evaluation sheet. Dock is great and there are crabs in Rocky Bay!
Rocky waterfront - access to sandy beach was restricted by neighbor.

Rocky Bay Retreat near Friday Harbor Review

July 2016
, North Ogden, UT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We were here with family and friends for a 60th birthday celebration. The location and size of the home were perfect for the event. The kitchen is well equipped, however, it could use an all new set of dishes and mugs (mismatched and small). The kitchen (tile counter tops are difficult to keep clean) and baths (pink tile) are dated. The pump for the septic system is going out and needs to be replaced as well as the toilet in the master and the handles on all toilets. The cleaning crew told us they needed another hour to clean when we arrived - we grabbed the paper towels, brooms, etc. and helped out to get in quicker.

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, Thank you for your visit to the Islands and for allowing us to assist you in the creation of your vacation experience. We also appreciate your feedback here. The issues you note have been addressed at this point and the house offers an unforgettable experience. We hope you will consider returning and if Rocky Bay Retreat isnt for you, please contact us and we would be glad to assist you in selecting one of our other 80 homes which might better serve your needs. Best Regards, General Manager

great location, great house

July 2016
, Maple Valley, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Thoroughly enjoyed the home. Just the right distance between Friday Harbor and Roche Harbor. Nice dock. Worked great for our 19' boat.
Had great luck crabbing right out front of the bay.

Fantastic, quiet location for a large family reunion

July 2016
, Princeton, NJ United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

A large, well laid out house with a big deck on a gorgeous location by the water. The house had great common spaces for everyone to get together but the bedrooms were all secluded enough to afford privacy when needed (a must for family reunions). Would be great if the kitchen had more water glasses and utensils. A minor issue compared to the great experience our family had.

Absolutely Perfect

June 2016
, Redwood City, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had an absolutely marvelous stay at the Rock Bay Retreat. The 5 Rooms was what attracted us in the beginning - enough to accommodate us and our 4 married children and spouses for a wonderful family reunion. The home was immaculate and all aspects in perfect condition. We also appreciated that there was sit down dinning for all 10 of us. The location on the bay is beautiful, and of course the island is a perfect destination. All in all a once in a life time experience.

Perfect for large group

June 2016
, Palmer, Alaska United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The best part was plenty of private bedrooms and bathrooms for extended family. Twelve of us, three couples, two with kids, two grandma's and a single nephew all had their own space, as everyone has different sleep schedules. Large great room comes off of kitchen and dining area so chatter can continue no matter where you are. There was really enough space in the living room, and another game table out there. Great cupboard full of jig saw puzzles and games, tons of pots pans and all kitchen supplies. Huge wrap around deck. The only warning I would give would be that the dock is not real safe for little ones (we had 3 toddlers) and the yard ends in a rocky bank. Safe for older kids who love to climb on rocks. And the best part, you are secluded from neighbors yet 10-15 minutes from Roche Harbor, Friday Harbor, Lavender Farm and an amazing Oyster Farm.

Family Gathering

June 2016
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Fantastic property with an accessable dock in a lovely setting. There was abundant wildlife-eagles, seals, sea otters, deer, numerous birds and much more. The home was well-equipped, clean an comfortable. Beautiful ocean views from the living room and deck.

The Good and Bad

October 2015
, Puyalluyp, WA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

The Good - The home is beautiful, well laid out with a lot of living space. It's kept clean and in good condition. The location is fantastic as it is 10 minutes away from Roche Harbor. The view of the sunset is great and the private dock is good for swimming.

The Bad - Water pressure is HORRIBLE. There is hardly enough water pressure to take a shower and impossible for two showers to run at the same time. If other appliances, sinks, toilets and showers run simultaneously, water pressure drops to a trickle. Very frustrating... especially when I voiced my concerns to the property manager after reading a review with the same complaint, and was told there was no water pressure problems!!! Also, there is a water pump located under the master bath in the crawl space that makes a lot of noise when it kicks in. Woke us up numerous times thrughout our stay. Finally, there are no open fires allowed...AKA no roasting hot dogs, or making smores. I will likely look for a different rental if I need one for my next visit to the Island.

Beautiful home right on the water

September 2015
, Salt Lake City, UT United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Property was perfect for our large group of 11 people. Home is in excellent condition and the views are spectacular. We hired a sailboat company who took us whale watching for the day and hiked at the parks.

fantastic water front vacation spot

September 2015
, Ashland, OR United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great gorgeous perfect spot! Thank you!! The dock makes access to the water/boats so easy!

Suggestion: paint the trip hazards on the dock a bright color. We all tripped multiple times and one older man almost ended up in the water.

San Juan Island

September 2015
, Miniapalis , MN United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
2

Our vacation rental experience was unpleasant.
The location was wonderful and the home beautiful. The home had a private water system and the filters plugged. Water pressure in the home was minimual for 3 of the 4 day stay. Showering was difficult, using the dishwasher was marginal, and washing clothing was not possible. Replacement filters were not readily available. The management company provided relief via showing at a home 15 minutes away and an opportunity to move after the problem was not solved. Our family chose to stay instead of packing everything and moving in the middle of our visit. A rate discount was given but we would have much more enjoyed a home stay instead of the discount.
Future renters should ask if this issue is resolved before selecting this location.

Rocky Bay

May 2015
, Steamboat Springs, Colorado United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Everything was great. met or exceeded expectations. The house was lovely for our group.