Row Wrapper 2

Orcas Island, Overlook at Rosario #243

4.1667
(6 Reviews)

Capacity

3 Bedrooms
2.5 Bath
Sleeps 6

Search Availability

About

WONDERFUL SUNSETS AND MORNING LIGHT WITH AMAZING VIEWS OVER CASCADE BAY AND ROSARIO RESORT

When visitors arrive at Rosario Resort and Marina, they gaze up toward the exclusive homes set upon the eastern hillside with an envious eye. That is because these ridge line residences focus toward one of the most dramatic views in all of the San Juan Islands. You too can now enjoy this lofty perspective.

You will enter the grounds through a gated garden and wander down terraced steps that lead to the front door. From the entry, your eye will be drawn through the formal living room toward the sweeping views of East Sound, Mt. Woollard, Rosario Mansion and Marina, and the neighboring island and waterways. After you settle in, you’ll find the paneled living room with contemporary seating and a rugged rock-faced fireplace a lovely location for conversation and watching the sunset.

This custom home is exceptionally spacious, with floor to ceiling windows that expand the view into all major rooms. Around the corner from the living room, you’ll find a dining room with antique table. Beyond, a seating area and gas fireplace enhances the kitchen area. Cooks will find the kitchen very well equipped with amenities that include a gas cook top, double oven, and island with stools. The family room, around another corner, features a large TV, DVD player, and sound system. The bedroom wing is on the opposite end of the home. The master bedroom offers a king bed and a lovely en-suite bathroom with glamorous tub and stall shower. There is a second bathroom with shower in the hall that is shared by the two additional bedrooms, both rooms offering queen beds.

You’ll probably spend pleasant hours lounging on the two decks where you can soak up the sunshine, drink in the view, and enjoy a BBQ. All in all, The Overlook at Rosario is the perfect home base for your summer vacation!

_Do note that the hillside on the waterside is fairly steep. Children will require adult supervision when on that side of the home, on the garden side of the home, and when using the child’s playhouse. Also please note that there is no AC and the ice maker does not work. _

San Juan County VR Permit #PCUP00-14-0019

LIMITED AVAILABILITY OF SERVICES (IMPORTANT NOTICE, PLEASE READ)

Northwest Island Escapes makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

Features

Amenities

  • House
  • Close Up Water View
  • Dogs Not Allowed
  • Propane Fireplace
  • DVD Player
  • WIFI internet
  • Satellite TV
  • Propane BBQ
  • Outdoor Dining Table & Chairs
  • Fenced Yard
  • Water View

Location

  • Orcas Island

Rates and Fees

  • 4 Night Minimum Peak
  • 2 Night Minimum Shoulder
  • 2 Night Minimum Quiet
  • $75 Damage Waiver
  • $235 Checkout Cleaning
  • 3% Admin Fee
  • No Smoking Allowed

Proximity

  • Near Rosario Resort

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
$399 /nt
25
$399 /nt
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
$399 /nt
29
 
30
 
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
$399 /nt
7
$399 /nt
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
$399 /nt
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
$399 /nt
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$399 /nt
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
$399 /nt
18
$399 /nt
19
$399 /nt
20
$399 /nt
21
$399 /nt
22
$399 /nt
23
$399 /nt
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
 
2
$399 /nt
3
$399 /nt
4
$299 /nt
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
$299 /nt
11
$299 /nt
12
$299 /nt
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
$299 /nt
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
$299 /nt
26
$299 /nt
27
$299 /nt
28
$299 /nt
29
$299 /nt
30
$299 /nt
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$299 /nt
2
$299 /nt
3
$299 /nt
4
$299 /nt
5
$299 /nt
6
$299 /nt
7
$299 /nt
8
$299 /nt
9
$299 /nt
10
$299 /nt
11
$299 /nt
12
$299 /nt
13
$299 /nt
14
$299 /nt
15
$299 /nt
16
$259 /nt
17
$259 /nt
18
 
19
 
20
$259 /nt
21
$259 /nt
22
$259 /nt
23
$259 /nt
24
$259 /nt
25
$259 /nt
26
$259 /nt
27
$259 /nt
28
$259 /nt
29
$259 /nt
30
$259 /nt
31
$259 /nt
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$259 /nt
2
$259 /nt
3
$259 /nt
4
$259 /nt
5
$259 /nt
6
$259 /nt
7
$259 /nt
8
$259 /nt
9
$259 /nt
10
$259 /nt
11
$259 /nt
12
$259 /nt
13
$259 /nt
14
$259 /nt
15
$259 /nt
16
$259 /nt
17
$259 /nt
18
$259 /nt
19
$259 /nt
20
$259 /nt
21
$259 /nt
22
$259 /nt
23
$259 /nt
24
$259 /nt
25
$259 /nt
26
$259 /nt
27
$299 /nt
28
$299 /nt
29
$299 /nt
30
$299 /nt
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$299 /nt
2
$259 /nt
3
$259 /nt
4
$259 /nt
5
$259 /nt
6
$259 /nt
7
$259 /nt
8
$259 /nt
9
$259 /nt
10
$259 /nt
11
$259 /nt
12
$259 /nt
13
$259 /nt
14
$259 /nt
15
$259 /nt
16
$259 /nt
17
$259 /nt
18
$259 /nt
19
$259 /nt
20
$259 /nt
21
$259 /nt
22
$259 /nt
23
$299 /nt
24
$299 /nt
25
$299 /nt
26
$299 /nt
27
$299 /nt
28
$299 /nt
29
$299 /nt
30
$299 /nt
31
$299 /nt
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 

Photos

Map

Reviews

Overlook at Rosario

August 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Have used San Juan Vacation Ventures for two years and have enjoyed the homes and management service on both years. Love staying near Moran State Park and close to Eastsound village.

MISLEAD

August 2017
, KIRKLAND, WA United States

Overall
1
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
1
Location
5
Property condition
1

We were profoundly disappointed with the rental and feel its quality and care were grossly misrepresented. We were deeply embarrassed to share this house with our guests. Throughout the House there was a smell of what seemed to be urine and the carpeting was filthy and dramatically stained in most areas. A/C wasnt working upon arrival. Windows are filthy throughout the house. Several window screens were ripped or absent. There were cob webs, spiders, and dead bugs all around the house. Ice Makers and Water did not work on either refrigerator. Ant poison was all over kitchen counter. Ceiling fan in living room was not working. Old TV sitting on floor in the TV room instead of disposed of. No privacy curtains in guest bedroom facing the patio. There were many burnt out light bulbs. Hall bathroom Light fixture was badly broken and missing a second workable bulb, making the bathroom unacceptably dark! Master Bed is in FOUL condition; severely bucketed. The unannounced groundskeeper, stood outside bathroom and bedroom windows when residents were changing or bathing! The handrail to the entrance is badly cracked and not usable. The master bedroom closet light fixture was filled with bugs, a spider on the ceiling, the fan vent cover has been removed, the dresser mirror was placed on a FILTHY rag full of seeds!! The master bath light fixture was full of bugs and the window was filthy and the view of the yard included old hoses and an old dug-up lamp post! The patio tables were filthy, molded and stained! No patio umbrella was provided. The deck had old garden pots stacked in the corner, was covered with madrone bark and liken. The view is remarkable and while there are many charming points to this house, the list of issues is absolutely unacceptable! We would have NEVER rented this place if the condition of the carpeting alone was ethically represented. We received 30% refund for the misrepresentation but, in retrospect should have received a full refund.


Manager's Response

Dear Guest - Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely receive your comments here. As you know we did our own investigation of the circumstances of your stay when you relayed your experience to us and while we do not agree with the level of issue you describe here, we did agree that the property was not up to our standards and it has been removed from our rental pool. We sincerely apologized before for your experience and will do so again here. Best Regards, General Manager

One of the best views on the island!

August 2016
, Chicago, IL-Illinois United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

The Overlook at Rosario boasts a wonderful location, close to Moran State Park and Rosario resort, with gorgeous views of Mt. Wollard, Turtleback Mountain, and East Sound (the body of water, not the town). 2 huge decks span the width of this very large home, so there is tons of space to soak in the view. The property itself has beautiful madrona trees that frame your view, and it's nice to walk in the backyard, though mind the steep drop offs if you have young children.

I'm guessing the house was built around 1980, and there are some signs of age and needs of updating. The bathrooms are great - recently updated. The kitchen, however: the microwave oven didn't work during our stay in August 2016. And the gas or electric double oven never worked, either. My wife and I cook a lot of meals when we're on Orcas, so this was a bit of a bummer, but we made do with the 4 burner range + the propane grill on the deck. The management company sent someone out, but they were unable to fix the 2 ovens. After our trip, Windermere made it right by giving us a credit. We have used Windermere/Vacation Doorways for several years, and this was the only time we've had an issue, and they resolved it to our satisfaction.

I would recommend this home to a friend, but with the caveat that (assuming you plan to cook a fair amount), you check with the management company prior to make sure these issues have been fixed.

The house is very spacious, and for our family of four it was almost too big. I think they say the max occupancy is 6, but even with 6, there would be plenty of room to spread out. Big living room, big den, plus 2 decks.

Great spot to enjoy the trails and lakes of Moran State Park, and just 10 min drive to Eastsound.

A Great Escape

August 2015
, Covington, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Everything about this house was perfect. It is an absolutely gorgeous home, which is very beautifully decorated. It has stunning views of Rosario, and the surrounding waters. We loved watching the sea planes take off and land and all of the eagles, which flew by. We loved every minute of our stay!

Family Trip

July 2015
, Chicago, Illinois United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a great time at the house with 6 adults. The views are incredible, the outdoor space is nice, kitchen is great for cooking with a large group, ample living space and nicely updated baths. We really loved being close to Moraine State Park & Rosario so the location was perfect for us.

A Taste of Paradise on Orcas Island

July 2015
, Hollywood, FL United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

We spent 4 glorious days on Orcas Island and The Overlook at Rosario was our home away from home. The location was perfect, the house lovely, and the view spectacular. The home is large, comfortable, warm, and had all the amenities we could have hoped for.

Though we were hesitant to rent this home because this was the first year the home was available for rental and there werent any reviews, our hesitancy was for naught. Soworry notthis house is terrific and a perfect Orcas Island choice.

We had a wonderful family reunion at The Overlook at Rosario and hope to return when next we make Orcas Island our destination.