Row Wrapper 2

Lopez Island, Coho Lane House #300

4.5614
(57 Reviews)

Capacity

4 Bedrooms
3 Bath
Sleeps 12

Search Availability

About

PRIVATE, UPSCALE WATERFRONT VACATION RENTAL HOME ON LOPEZ ISLAND

This spacious Craftsman Bungalow has an adventurous past. In 1913, it was a fine residence on a nice street in Victoria, BC. Then one day, this staid Victorian left the noise and bustle of the city behind. She embarked on a sea cruise, relocated to lovely Lopez Island, and settled into a peaceful new neighborhood with a beautiful ocean view, open spaces, and tall trees. In recent years, the house has been expanded, beautifully restored, and lovingly upgraded. As a result, Coho Lane House offers a rare and desirable combination of vintage and freshness.

Traditional touches of yesteryear have been retained that include a rambling set of rooms, wainscoting and moldings, original fir floors, and window seats. But conveniences of today are incorporated into the home as well. A premier kitchen with stainless steel appliances, new bathrooms with elegant fixtures, WIFI, and satellite TV are all provided to make your stay in this vacation home an exceptionally comfortable one.

Located at the end of a private lane, the house is surrounded by porches, a big deck, whispering fir trees, and a nice grassy lawn for children and dogs to play on. ALTHOUGH THIS IS A WATERFRONT HOME, THERE IS NO BEACH ACCESS FROM THE PROPERTY DUE TO IT BEING A HIGH-BANK WATERFRONT LOCATION. BEACH ACCESS REQUIRES WALKING OR DRIVING APPROXIMATELY .7 MILE TO A NEARBY WATERFRONT PARK. You will not want to miss wandering on the long sandy beach at the nearby park.

The home is warm and comfortable for just a few, but it is also very family friendly. To the side of the home is a huge deck where you can sit to enjoy the sun, BBQ, dine outdoors, watch passing ferries and boats, and just enjoy the beautiful waterfront scenery.

The home is built on three levels. On the middle level you will find the living room, dining area, kitchen, and a bedroom with a queen bed. On the lower level there is a game room with French doors that open up to the lawn and another outdoor seating area. One of the king bedrooms is on the lower level as well. The master bedroom with a king-size bed and the fourth bedroom with a queen sized bed are on the upper story.

Up to eight guests can be accommodated on two king beds and two queen beds. When more than eight guests are accepted, guests #9, 10, 11 or 12 will need to bring their own aerobeds and sleeping bags, etc. Your pooch is also welcome to stay on the lower level.

San Juan County VR Permit #08PROV009

LIMITED AVAILABILITY OF SERVICES (IMPORTANT NOTICE, PLEASE READ)

Northwest Island Escapes makes every effort to provide, and provide timely maintenance and service for, all the amenities listed in this property description. However, at times, due to events out of our control, these services may not be as fast or reliable as our guests are used to on the mainland. Please Read your contract for important additional information about the availability of these services..

PLEASE BE ADVISED. Parties are not permitted under any circumstances and the guest occupancy limit will be strictly enforced during your stay.

• Travel Insurance – Unexpected Things Can Happen, We Highly Recommend You Purchase Travel Insurance.

Features

Amenities

  • House
  • Waterfront
  • Private Acreage
  • Dogs Allowed
  • Propane Fireplace
  • DVD Player
  • WIFI internet
  • Satellite TV
  • Wood Burning Fireplace
  • Exterior and/or Interior Stairs
  • No Smoking Allowed
  • Water View

Location

  • Lopez Island

Rates and Fees

  • 4 Night Minimum Peak
  • 3 Night Minimum Shoulder
  • 3 Night Minimum Quiet
  • $99 Damage Waiver
  • $265 Checkout Cleaning
  • Dog Rent $35 Night
  • 3% Admin Fee

Proximity

  • Near Community Beach

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
$699 /nt
25
$699 /nt
26
$699 /nt
27
$699 /nt
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$699 /nt
2
$699 /nt
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
$699 /nt
14
$699 /nt
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
$699 /nt
22
$699 /nt
23
$699 /nt
24
$699 /nt
25
$699 /nt
26
$699 /nt
27
$699 /nt
28
$699 /nt
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
$699 /nt
3
$699 /nt
4
$699 /nt
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
$699 /nt
10
$699 /nt
11
$699 /nt
12
$699 /nt
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
$699 /nt
18
$699 /nt
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
$699 /nt
24
$699 /nt
25
$699 /nt
26
$699 /nt
27
$699 /nt
28
$699 /nt
29
$699 /nt
30
$699 /nt
31
$699 /nt
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$699 /nt
2
$699 /nt
3
$699 /nt
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
$399 /nt
11
$399 /nt
12
$399 /nt
13
$399 /nt
14
$399 /nt
15
$399 /nt
16
$399 /nt
17
$399 /nt
18
$399 /nt
19
$399 /nt
20
$399 /nt
21
$399 /nt
22
$399 /nt
23
$399 /nt
24
$399 /nt
25
$399 /nt
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
$399 /nt
29
$399 /nt
30
$399 /nt
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$399 /nt
2
$399 /nt
3
$399 /nt
4
$399 /nt
5
$399 /nt
6
$399 /nt
7
$399 /nt
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
$399 /nt
11
$399 /nt
12
$399 /nt
13
$399 /nt
14
$399 /nt
15
$399 /nt
16
$399 /nt
17
$399 /nt
18
$399 /nt
19
$399 /nt
20
$399 /nt
21
$399 /nt
22
$399 /nt
23
$399 /nt
24
$399 /nt
25
$399 /nt
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
$399 /nt
29
$399 /nt
30
$399 /nt
31
$399 /nt
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$399 /nt
2
$399 /nt
3
$399 /nt
4
$399 /nt
5
$399 /nt
6
$399 /nt
7
$399 /nt
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
$399 /nt
11
$399 /nt
12
$399 /nt
13
$399 /nt
14
$399 /nt
15
$399 /nt
16
$399 /nt
17
$399 /nt
18
$399 /nt
19
$399 /nt
20
$399 /nt
21
$399 /nt
22
$399 /nt
23
$399 /nt
24
$399 /nt
25
$399 /nt
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
$399 /nt
29
$399 /nt
30
$399 /nt
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$399 /nt
2
$399 /nt
3
$399 /nt
4
$399 /nt
5
$399 /nt
6
$399 /nt
7
$399 /nt
8
$399 /nt
9
$399 /nt
10
$399 /nt
11
$399 /nt
12
$399 /nt
13
$399 /nt
14
$399 /nt
15
$399 /nt
16
$399 /nt
17
$399 /nt
18
$399 /nt
19
$399 /nt
20
$399 /nt
21
$399 /nt
22
$399 /nt
23
$399 /nt
24
$399 /nt
25
$399 /nt
26
$399 /nt
27
$399 /nt
28
$399 /nt
29
$399 /nt
30
$399 /nt
31
$399 /nt
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31
 
 

Map

Reviews

A Great House in a Great Spot

November 2018
, Clarklake, MI United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

We enjoyed our stay in this beautifully renovated house. We found it clean and comfortable, with everything one might need in the kitchen.

Highly recommend.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your lovely review of this fantastic home. It is full of charm and history and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you to another stay in the future!
~NW Island Escapes

Beautiful location!

September 2018
, Albuquerque, NM United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This is a beautiful location and we enjoyed our time there.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your nice review of Coho Lane House on beautiful Lopez Island. We look forward to welcoming you again to the San Juan Islands soon!
~NW Island Escapes

Waterfront without the waterfront

August 2018
, Telluride, CO United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great house, comfortable, well-stocked, inside well-maintained, outside less so but ok, BUT you are paying for a waterfront location and you cannot see the water. This is honestly very frustrating - you can hear boats, sea lions, things plopping in the water, but the overgrown shrubs and trees keep any view (with the exception of a small slice from the master bedroom deck) unavailable. Paying for waterfront and being unable to have a view is unacceptable.

WaterVIEW home with 1/2 mile walk on road to the beach

August 2018
, Snohomish, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
3

Lovely home on a nice sized lot, with a mostly blocked view of the water. To get to the beach you need to leave the property, walk down the road, and go to Upright Channel park. There is no access from the house itself.
The home is large and charming. The beds are mostly firm and pretty comfortable, although not all bedrooms have closets, and there are very few hooks in the rooms or in the bathrooms. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you need to cook and even bake.
We used the deck a lot, loved the size of it for gatherings,meals, etc, but it’s seen better days and could use some attention.
Learned that if there is ANYTHING you’re not happy about you really need to call the management company right away.

Lopez has lots of great things to do! We brought bikes and kayaks. The farmers market on Saturday was great. Lots of amazing artists live on the island. Shark Reef point is incredible at tide change; Iceberg point has great views into the straits; Mackaye Harbor and Agate beach are beautiful places to look for beach glass and gorgeous rocks.
If we returned for another family rendezvous I’d probably find a house that actually had beach access from the property....but if you don’t care about that, this is a lovely home!

Review of Coho lane house stay

July 2018
, Shoreline, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a marvelous time in the house. The location suited our family needs perfectly. The house was clean and organized when we arrived. The manager responded to our needs promptly (when, e.g., we needed a new propane tank). We enjoyed the walk to the beach, the stores a short drive away, the backyard for relaxation and games, etc.I would definitely recommend the property to others. The principal issue was a minor one and probably will be easily corrected by management: the need for a better shower head in the top floor shower, and mat for the shower floor because to slickness. But we had a great time!

Lovely home, but the view could be better

July 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
2
Property condition
5

We enjoyed our stay at the Coho Lane House. It's lovely and well-equipped. We were disappointed with the view. We knew it would be limited by the trees, but it was almost non existent. A large part of the value of the rental was having a view, so this was a big disappointment for us.

Great home for a group!

April 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a wonderful time staying at the Coho Lane House during the Tour de Lopez weekend. The house is beautiful and handles a small group very well. The rooms are comfortable and the kitchen is great for cooking! The home has big gorgeous windows and the property is fun to explore with young kids - all 4 of the kids in our group loved wandering around hoping to find deer, and we even saw an owl hanging out in the big cedar trees that line the long driveway.
My only wish is that the downstairs room could be heated better. The only thermostat is located in the kitchen which stays warm but the basement space is very cold and only has tile floor. We opted to sleep more people crammed in upstairs instead of spreading out to the downstairs space only because it was so cold down there. I'm sure it's not that big of an issue in the warmer months but during the cooler season it was noticeable.
Other reviewers have complained about plastic wine glasses so I'll send an update that there were a few glass ones in there now and none of those glasses got in the way of enjoying a glass or two of wine each night. :)

Fun and family at Coho Lane House

April 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our extended family celebrated my birthday on Lopez at Coho house and had a wonderful time. It is close to the village, wine tasting and the beach. The house is spacious and comfortable and feels like a true home. All of the rooms are nice, even the basement bedroom, although it was quite cold down there. Our large group was able to gather together in the kitchen, living room by the fireplace, and around the terrific fire pit. This charming house also has lots of nooks to snuggle up with a book. Would love to come back!

Manager's Response

Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting Lopez Island and staying at Coho Lane House - a great place in particular for larger groups. We are so pleased you enjoyed the property and your time here - please return soon! Best, General Manager

Great House Tucked Away in the Forest

July 2017
, Castle Rock, CO United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Coho Lane house was everything we could have hoped for! Beautiful setting and comfortable. The house was well stocked and had every thing we needed for a wonderful vacation. Especially enjoyed the fire pit each night. We will definitely return someday! Management company was easy to work with and made sure we had everything we needed.

Christmas Vacation

December 2016
, Greenwood Village, CO United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

The house was very comfortable for our Christmas holiday with family. Our only disappointment was a long walk to the beach and plastic wine glasses.

Manager's Response

Dear Guest - thank you for staying with us in the Islands over the Christmas Break. It is a beautiful time of year up here and we hope you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback on the glasses in the house. It will be provided to our staff so we can make adjustments for future guests. I hope you will return and use our services again on your next Island experience! Best Regards, General Manager

Beautiful home, perfect getaway location on Lopez!

October 2016
, Bothell, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This rental home on Lopez is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in numerous rentals over the years both in the US and overseas. The home was extremely clean, well stocked with everything we needed, quiet yet close to town and beach access. There are four gorgeous bedrooms and three renovated full baths. We found the downstairs to be a perfect temperature and not cold and damp as in previous reviews. Beach access was clearly provided in two pages included in the home manual. The kitchen had brand new appliances, the deck was spacious with a fairly new grill and the sitting room in the front of the house was filled with light and provided a wonderful place to relax. The windows in that room even had some original glass! What a beautiful home! We were happy to have stayed there and would welcome the opportunity to do so again. We had no reason to contact the management company while we were there as we experienced no issues whatsoever.

Charming bungalow

August 2016
, Breckenridge, Colorado United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Wonderful home for our family get together. Charming, clean, well stocked kitchen. Beautiful walk to beach. Lovely bike rides to and from town. Very quiet and private. We will definitely book here again.
Only suggestions to management company would be would be to have real glass wine glasses instead of plastic, need to check the light bulbs throughout the house (especially at bottom of stairs), add more (and nicer) deck seating.

Amazing time with family!

August 2016
, Issaquah, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The Coho Lane House was amazing! We stayed with 3 generations, ranging in age from 3 to 67. The house was perfect for everyone! Plenty of room for people to curl up with a good book and relax, as well as a great outside area to play cards and eat. The house was clean, in a great location, and beautiful. Would definitely suggest for families with kids and groups of adults!

Coho Lane House

July 2016
, Bellingham, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our stay was awesome at the Coho Lane House. We had 10 total family members in our group. The multi-layer layout allowed for the kids to have some privacy and a TV in the lower floor gave them a chance to laugh till late at night. Generous wood pile gave us a chance to light an evening campfire. The house was very clean, kitchen was well equipped and the beds were comfy. The staff was helpful and quick to respond with answers to our question. Thanks again!

Pearson Family Reunion

July 2016
, Fruit Heights, Utah United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We were impressed with the cleanliness and comfortable surroundings of this vacation home. We enjoyed the comfortable beds as well as the various places we could enjoy our meals. We also enjoyed an evening by the campfire telling stories and enjoying the great weather during our stay. I would definitely recommend this home-away-from-home to any visitor to the area.

Wonderful family vacation

July 2016
, Lynden, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our family - 8 adults, 3 kids had a wonderful time at this beautiful vacation rental home! It is comfortable and beautifully decorated. The fire pit was a huge plus! There was room to set up a volleyball net. We wished there were directions to the beach but did find it. It is a great walk - 25 minutes. The adirondack chairs outside and a couple dining chairs need attention. We will definitely consider going back. Such good memories!

Lopez Island, Coho Lane House #300

August 2015
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The rental process was a breeze, and the house was perfect for our end of summer vacation! Plenty of space to spread out, and the rec room was perfect for the kids and dog. A short walk to the beach. Can't wait to go back!

Wonderful Vacation

August 2015
, Redmond, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It was excellent, the family agreed that it was the best ever !

Beautiful home with plenty of room for families

July 2015
, Gig Harbor, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
2
Property condition
5

Amenities are first class in this large 3 stories house. Beautifully decorated and comfortable. We were disappointed in the view which is mostly trees even though it is high on a bluff by the water. The nearest beach is actually Odlin County Park by car. Otherwise it is about a 25 minute walk from the house to Upright Channel State Park. It is 3/10 mile walk only if you drive to the park, which we felt was misleading in the description. However, the house is a wonderful place for family gatherings.

Coho Lane House, Lopez Island

July 2015
, Carbondale, CO United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

Six adults, (including two 70 year olds) & 3 kids ages 9, 5, & 20 months, plus 2 dogs, all had a great time. House worked well - the location was convenient, close to village & the walk to the beach access not far. Thanks for the superb weather! Didn't need TV/DVD with so many outside activities.

Would suggest better attention to lighting (lamps/bulbs not functioning), and the mattresses are feeling their age. Couple of the dining chairs need to be re-glued. Since most of our meals were at home, one large skillet would be appreciated. Overall it was good vacation & we hope to have a family get together like this often.

Wonderful Family Reunion Experience!

July 2015
, Lopez, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The layout of this house makes it ideal for combining families and the big deck was perfect for sharing family-style meals with the cooperation of great weather. And it was fun to watch the ferries go by!

Coho lane-

September 2014
, Issaquah, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

This is a very charming house and we enjoyed it very much. A nice blend of new and old. It is situated on a wonderful lot. We would like to return as it was a good experience.
It does lack closet space in the upstairs bedrooms but does have nice drawers for storage. We were there for a wedding so we had lots of
clothes to hang.
The Kitchen was well stocked and the appliances are nice and for the most part worked well.

Lovely stay on Lopez Island

August 2014
, Palos Verdes Estates, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house is very spacious and accommodated our 3 families very comfortably. Convenient location to the ferry terminal and Lopez Village. Well equipped Kitchen and house.The outside deck and fire pit were enjoyable features.

Family

August 2014
, PORTLAND, Oregon United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
5

Very impressive home and beautiful, quiet location. Interior design was very high quality, and assistance for a new coffee maker instant. Will return.

Perfect Island getaway

July 2014
, Lake Forest Park, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Ideal for large group or family to spend time together. Our family of 11 assembled from different locations and the house was large enough to accommodate all of us. Backyard provided perfect spot for tent camping, playing games like soccer, croquet, badminton etc. and sharing stories seated around a fire until late evening. We had a memorable family vacation.

Great Place For an Urban Excape

May 2014
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It's a great place to stay with loads of amenities and well cared for. Everything went exceptionally well and the house was wonderful to stay. The only issues were the ferry lines to get here are long, so make sure you allot plenty of time to get here. Other than that, it was great. :)

Coho lane house

May 2014
, Monrovia, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Construction occurring two houses to the east which can impair the expected tranquility.

Otherwise, great property and would recommend if guest is aware of construction in beginning of summer 2014.

Manager's Response

We've spoken to the person building the new house and are told that the exterior work will be done shortly - the interior work isn't nearly as disruptive. The property owner is also talking to the contractors so that they are cautioned to keep the noise level down. Sorry for this inconvenience!

Wonderful

March 2014
, Edmonds, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My guys that stayed there enjoyed it very much ,after work they came back and it was so peaceful no car's racing by . They loved the Islanders how they wave to everybody

Nice Property, Poor Customer Service

September 2013
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
4
Location
3
Property condition
4

My family stayed for a week in this property and had some friends come and stay with us for a few days. The house was beautiful with warm wood throughout. There are two bedrooms upstairs with a skylight as the ceiling in the bathroom. The main floor has one bedroom and one bathroom. The downstairs has one bedroom, one bathroom, washer/dryer room, and TV area. There are lots of books and games available for use. Theres a large fire pit in the backyard and had cut wood available for use. The water view is not extensive due to trees around the home, but the trees make the home feel very secluded and quiet.

The property description said there is a trail to get to the waterfront. It would be nice if there was a map in the binder of information showing how to get to the trail as we never saw one.

The house receives its water from a well. Be aware taking showers should be 30 minutes apart (dishwasher/washing machine too).

The downstairs floor (tiles) is cold (bring slippers). Also, theres a strong smell of the fireplace being heavily used in the past. We never used it, but tried to get the smell out by airing out the downstairs (never dissipated).

We noticed the oven was not working. We spent some time reading through the manual to determine if we were doing something wrong, but we werent. We called the property management . They said someone came out a couple days before we arrived and it was determined it needed to be fixed. They said they would fix it or work on something to address our issue. #1 Problem: They should have told us before we arrived the oven wasnt working so we could plan meals accordingly. #2 Problem: They never contacted us again and problem was not resolved. I was unsatisfied with their customer service.

The bottom line is the property is beautiful, but just be aware the downstairs is cold/smelly and we experienced poor customer service for one issue (no other issues with this prop

Manager's Response


We are so very sorry that the oven was inoperable during your stay. We had expected the problem to be remedied prior to your arrival and subsequently learned that it was not. Unfortunately this was over Labor Day, a weekend when all vacation properties are completely filled on the Island and there are no appliance repair folks on the Island. (Someone has to come from the mainland with emergency parts.) However that is no excuse for our failure to apprise you of this unusual situation. Our customer service ratings are exceptionally high and we work extremely hard to provide guest satisfaction. In this case we did not. Someone clearly dropped the ball. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Lovely Island getaway

August 2013
, Selah, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

This was a very good place for a vacation with our grown children and their families. Lots of space in the house to spread out in, beautiful surroundings to enjoy being outdoors. We enjoyed many meals on the spacious deck with water views.
There were a few minor issues with things like housekeeping not leaving adequate supplies of some things such as dishwasher soap and not finding the kitchen towels until near the end of our visit, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed staying here and would happily return.

Lopez getaway

August 2013
, Edmonds, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

Good place for larger groups. Very comfortable but cleanliness was subpar.

Very Relaxing trip

July 2013
, Gresham, OR United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

First, this place was hard to find. Once we located it, the remoteness became an immediate benefit. The view was terrific, though we would appreciate the owners trimming some lower branches from the trees. We also saw an offer in the reviews to build stairs down to the water; please take them up on that.

I am coming back. I love this place. I agree that there should be more hand towels, and that they need a small heater in the basement, but this was a great "Slopez" experience. The house is great and I will be coming again.

Manager's Response

Shoreline regulations prohibit building stairs to the beach and removing trees - but the park is just down the road!

San Juan islands Birthday Bash!

July 2013
, Sunnyvale, CA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

all in all a great vacation - the scenery is beautiful and the Island(Lopez) easy to navigate. definitely recommend for a reunion or relaxing getaway!

Bummer about the neighbors

July 2013
, Camas, WA United States

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
1
Property condition
4

This is a WONDERFUL house for a large group. We had 3 generations stay in this house & it was perfect for that. Unfortunately, the greenery hasnt been cut back in awhile & so our view of the Strait wasnt as expansive as it could be. Its an amazing backyard, but you cant sit back there & enjoy the view because the view is has 2 little peek holes between trees. There isnt an expansive view to enjoy the water. Its unfortunate.

The other unfortunate thing were the neighbors on the west side of the house that came in on our 2nd night & pitched a tent VERY close to property line. They were up weed w/ an electric machine at 830am on July 5th (after staying up late enjoying the Lopez fireworks that start at 1015). They also had 2 dogs in a metal kennel that started barking on July 6th @ 730am for 20 minutes STRAIGHT. There were no peaceful mornings at this property. They werent very kind either. Before they left on the morning of the 7th, they pitched two "DO NOT TRESSPASS" signs pointed RIGHT at our house. We're not sure their intention since they never heard a peep from us and we would leave during the day. But it definitely hindered our stay & I wouldnt stay here again because of the experience with the neighbors & the lack of a view. Its unfortunate because its a BEAUTIFUL house that was clean & holds a lot of people. Unfortunately, the water "view" is misleading so we chose not to stay there & "chill" and the neighbors didnt allow peaceful mornings that are a wonderful part to an island vacation.

Manager's Response

No one has used previously used the vacant lot next door or behaved in this inconsiderate manner. Fortunately this type of use is infrequent. We will ask the owners to contact the owners of the property to prevent this situation in the future. As for the view, shoreline regulations prohibit cutting trees along the waterfront - and trees do grow. Over time the view has become restricted. We will request that the owners trim foliage where feasible in order to recapture the view.

Wonderful Family Vacation: 1st time to the Islands! It was great!

June 2013
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Wonderful Family Vacation: 1st time to the Islands! It was great!

Needs new dishwasher and laundry service.

May 2013
, Milwaukie, OR United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
2
Location
5
Property condition
3

I was concerned with the cleanliness of the kitchen, counters, dishes, glasses and pans. We found food remains on glasses that were stuck to them and we had to rewash a lot of dishes before use. The dishwasher did not remove any lipstick or finger grunge that was there before us. I had to scrub off a lot of filth. The sink backsplash was filthy and still may be. The guest towels were stained and did not look clean; so I rewashed those also before use. I just loved the house and the bathrooms were very clean; but the kitchen was not up to standards for a vacation rental. The house was lovely; but expected to not have to clean on arrival. The only reason I would not recommend is due to having to clean prior to use.

Manager's Response

Hi Nancy,
We are so very sorry that the kitchen area and implements were not fully inspected and polished prior to your arrival. As you were the first guest of our active summer season, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our housekeepers have just completed a thorough scrubbing of all kitchen equipment so that incoming guests may be assured they will find a spotless home. We will be contacting you to make amends.

Pplenty of platters

November 2012
, Lancaster, OH United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
2
Location
4
Property condition
4

We went to Lopez for Thanksgiving. We prepped, baked and cooked a big turkey dinner. Used the kitchen daily. The kitchen cleanliness was disappointing. Drawers were dirty and cluttered and not well organized. The quality pots and pans were cheap and on arrival there was no room for our pantry food. What the kitchen did have was plenty of platters-- large,small and variety of patterns. Could have used less platters and more serving dishes. Also not enough dish and kitchen towels. Had to use face and hand towels. For a gourmet kitchen the lack of dish towels, serving bowls and cluttered cabinets was a bit frustrating.

Peaceful Stay for Large Group

September 2012
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
3

Nice location in relation to Ferry terminal and Lopez Village. Large house with lots of spaces. It was great to have a house that had 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The guest beyond that amount had to sleep on couches and the floor. Firewood supply was not replenished for visit and screens were not installed on windows so made open windows problematic with bugs.

Paradise on Lopez Island!

August 2012
, Canby, OR United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The home was beautiful! We had 4 couples and we each had our own room. Very accommodating. The only issues we had were sugar ants in the kitchen, a bee nest on the skylight in the upstairs bathroom and no curtains in upstairs bedrooms. We would like to offer to build stairs to the beach from the house. Please contact me if interested.

House with a view

May 2012
, Grandville, MI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

I came to Coho Lane to finish a book I was writing. The property is unique in it's design, solitude, and comfort. Walk to the beach, sit by the fire, town is a five minute drive away. On a given day I saw more deer than people. I spent nearly four months at Coho Lane, and even after my novel was finished and it was time to move on I hated to leave. I suspect that I'll be back one day and the only change I'd like to see is a flat screen HDTV. The beautiful vista out over Upright channel isn't there at night and it is after all, the twenty-first century.

Extremely Pleased

September 2011
, mountain view, ca United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our 4th stay in 5 yrs at the Coho Lane house. We always love coming here in September. We love the privacy of this property. Located on the north end of the island it's only 5-7 mins from the town center shops.

We look forward to booking the Coho Lane house once again in 2012.

Great place...I'll be back!

August 2011
, Alexandria, VA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great house on a great island! I only wish there was stairs down to the beach.

Beautiful House on the Most Friendly San Juan Island

September 2011
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 33 Coho Lane. The house is lovely with hardwood floors, a nicely appointed kitchen, comfortable beds, and a cozy living room. It is also well situated on the NE corner of Lopez Island, just 5 minutes to town and walking
distance to a beautiful beach. Pros: - very nice house, doesn't feel like a rental - large backyard, private lane, good for kids running around - although we were there in late August the mornings are cold and the heat very quickly warmed up the house - convenient
location, enjoyed viewing rabbits and deer every morning Cons: - limited view of water due to trees - bees made it impossible to eat outdoors (common August - Sept) - sun goes down behind trees rather early so eating outdoors is limited - the basement (TV
room, lower bedroom) is a bit cold - all queen and king beds which is great unless you have kids sleeping in the same room. a pair of twins or bunk beds would be great. - BBQ didn't work

Great spot!

August 2011
, Colorado springs, Co United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Coho Lane is a great house in the ideal location for staying on Lopez Island. Just a mile + from town, it's a quick walk along the forest-lined road to get groceries, or to the nearby beach. The house itself is wonderful, perfect for large groups-- spaces
for everyone, but also for privacy, too. We hope to return!

Brown @ 33 Coho

July 2011
, Helena, Montana United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
5

Amazing property. Just what we were hoping for. Convenient location to everywhere. Would love a few steps to the beach!

Bob's review

July 2011
, Bellevue, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We found this home very comfortable and accommodating for our group of four couples. This "home" (not just a house) more than met our expectations on all counts.

July Family Vacation

July 2011
, Murrieta, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

What a beautiful house and location! The house was just as described - everything to make a vacation relaxing and comfortable - right down to firewood! The lovely people at Vacation Doorways were friendly and helpful. We will definitely return! Thank you so much!

Coho in September

September 2010
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

* we found the basement level was too cold and damp to really use. The forced air heating down there seemed to be inadequate, and the only other heat source was a wood-burning fireplace, which would have meant stoking a fire all day to get it to warm up. ReaLLY too cold and damp for comfortable use.
* not enough dining room chairs to seat 6 as advertised .. evidence in the basement that one or more had broken .. never replaced?
** suggest adding comments in the book about how to find the "trail down to the beach"

Very Private Family Home

August 2010
, Bend, OR United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
3
Property condition
3

The green house had nice decks on three levels
Private and quiet property was perfect for a family with a small dog and a four year old.
Being close to the ferry proved to be perfect if you wake up late!
Thank you for trying to take care of the broken dishwasher.

August 2010
, Gig Harbor, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

Biggest problem was that it did not sleep 9 (no pull out couch, which was a problem). Nice location, little-used beach nearby. Would recommend thinning out the trees to facilitate view.

Lopez Island Privacy

July 2010
, LOS ANGELES, CA US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

Had a great 7 days at the Coho house. Loved waking up to deer grazing on the endless property. Nice to have such privacy. We shared with another family (7 total) and there was plenty of room for all of us. Would be nice to have hideaway in downstairs TV room.
Wished there were some closets in the upstairs bedrooms. Hard to live out of a suitcase for 7 days. Did have big drawers to put things in but an armoire would be nice or at least some hooks. Also didn't like the water pressure in the showers or lack of..more than pressure watch the temperature shift from moment to moment while showering. Very dark on arrival to house at night. Bring flashlight or remember to leave lights on when you leave. Kitchen was well stocked. Had more than I have in my home. Enjoyed the firepit at night. Warm and comfortable house.

April 2010
, Bellevue, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
5

charming place

November 2009
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

The house is lovely, but there were no house instructions in the booklet. It would be helpful to have those, as it took a while to figure out lighting the fireplace, tv, etc. Also, the satellite TV was not operational - fine for summer, but nice to have in winter with children. The floors were only marginally clean - walking around in socks on the first day and the socks were quite dirty. Also, it was very dusty. I would think it would be very clean considering the estimated six hour cleaning time and cleaning fee. Property location and view were great though, so all in all minor issues.

Manager's Response

Thank you for pointing out that our housekeeping was not up to our standards. We've taken measures to remedy the condition.

300 Coho Lane Lopez

September 2009
, San Francisco, California United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

Beautiful location and house. Some thinning of trees would improve the water view. Water pressure in showers is poor.

Lopez Island 2009

September 2009
, Mountain View, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This is our second time staying at the Coho Lane House on Lopez Island. We liked it so much last year that we decided to return and added an extra week to really relax and enjoy everything that Lopez has to offer. The house is amazing and if you are looking for a peaceful place to stay - this is it! Can't wait until next year! We are going to re-book ASAP!!!

Secluded and tranquil with a beautiful view

July 2009
, Graham, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
5

If you are looking for a tranquil place to escape the city, this is it. Very secluded, yet close to ferry and the village. Wish we could have stayed longer. Plenty of deer & an eagle sighting made for great photo opportunity. We enjoyed all out meals cooked in the fully-equipped kitchen or outdoor grill on the huge deck. Altogether, it was a very relaxing getaway for my husband and I and our two adult children. I would recommend it for anyone wanting to get away from it all.

May 2009
, Lopez Island, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4